Tagline Coming Soon


IARS Awards and Grants Program

IARS established its Awards and Grants Program in 1983 to further the scientific advancement of the anesthesiology specialty. To date, the IARS has funded over 175 projects, contributing over $14 million to the anesthesia community.

Research Awards

Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award - $750,000

Established in 1995 to foster innovation and creativity by an individual researcher in the anesthesiology field. The next FARA application cycle will open in late 2014 for a grant to be awarded in 2015.

IARS Mentored Research Award - $600,000

Intended to support investigations that will further the understanding of clinical practice in anesthesiology and related sciences. The application cycle is now closed.

SCA-IARS Research Grants - $200,000

In 2009 the IARS pledged a gift of $1 million dollars to the SCA Foundation to support the SCA-IARS Starter and Mid-Career Grants. The application cycle is now closed.

For more information regarding an SCA-IARS Research Grant, visit the SCA Foundation website.

Education Awards

Teaching Recognition Awards - $17,000

Designed to recognize individuals with outstanding teaching skills and career contributions to the academic community. The award is comprised of two separate parts, Innovation in Education and Achievement in Education. The application cycle is now closed.