Tagline Coming Soon


IARS Awards and Grants Program

The IARS established its Awards and Grants Program in 1983 to further the scientific advancement of the anesthesiology specialty. To date, the IARS has funded nearly 200 projects, contributing almost $14 million to the anesthesia community.

Research Awards

Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award - $750,000

Established in 1995 to foster innovation and creativity by an individual researcher in the anesthesiology field. 

The application cycle in now closed.

IARS Mentored Research Award - $600,000

Intended to support investigations that will further the understanding of clinical practice in anesthesiology and related sciences.

The application cycle in now closed.

SCA-IARS Research Grants - $200,000

In 2009 the IARS pledged a gift of $1 million dollars to the SCA Foundation to support the SCA-IARS Starter and Mid-Career Grants, and renewed that commitment in 2014 with additional funds. The application cycle is now closed.

Education Awards

Teaching Recognition Awards - $17,000

Designed to recognize individuals with outstanding teaching skills and career contributions to the academic community. The award is comprised of two separate parts, Innovation in Education and Achievement in Education.

The application cycle in now closed.

Legacy Awards

B.B. Sankey Anesthesia Advancement Award

The B.B. Sankey Anesthesia Advancement Awards distributed over $1 million from 1983 to 1993 to 45 awardees for projects in clinical care, education, and administration, as well as laboratory and clinical research.

Ben Covino Memorial Award

The Ben Covino Memorial Awards were give to seven awardees, funding almost $150,000 in regional anesthesia research from 1993 until 2004, funded with a grant from AstraZeneca.

Chinese Research Prize

The Chinese Research Prize of $1,000 at the Chinese Society of Anesthesia meeting was awarded to promote and to share the IARS/CSA mission of best research advancement in the field of anesthesiology, and was awarded to ten Chinese scholars each year from 2008 until 2010.

Clinical Scholar Research Award

The Clinical Scholar Research Award was created to further the understanding of anesthesiology and related sciences in clinical practice through clinical investigations. After awarding almost $5 million to 62 recipients from 1994 until 2011, this award became the IARS Mentored Research Award.

SmartTots Initiative

SmartTots funded awards are aimed at investigating whether anesthetics or sedatives are neurotoxic and/or impede the normal development of the human brain. For more information regarding a SmartTots Research Grant, visit the SmartTots website.

All IARS Funded Awards and Grants

Review all IARS funded awards and grants since the launch of our program in 1983.